New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card Renewal >
New Jersey refers to its medical marijuana card as MCP card. This card identifies a patient registered in the state’s Medical Cannabis Program (MCP) and allows them to legally purchase, and possess, marijuana from licensed medical cannabis dispensaries in New Jersey. Medical marijuana cards were introduced in the state when it legalized cannabis for medical use in 2011 with the signing of the Compassionate Use of Medical Marijuana Act. In addition to making provisions for MMJ cards, the Act also created the state’s MCP and authorized the Cannabis Regulatory Commission to oversee it.
Anyone who meets the following conditions can apply for a medical marijuana card in New Jersey. An applicant must:
Yes, a minor can receive a medical marijuana card in New Jersey. A minor is a person under the age of 18 years, who has not been legally emancipated. A minor can receive a medical marijuana card if the following conditions are met:
The following conditions qualify as debilitating medical conditions in New Jersey and enable a patient to apply for a medical marijuana card in the state. These conditions are:
To register for a medical marijuana card in New Jersey, the patient must be certified by a healthcare provider with which they have a bonafide relationship. This certification authorizes the patient to register to use medical marijuana in New Jersey. The healthcare provider can be a licensed physician, physician's assistant, or an advanced practice nurse but must be a registered healthcare provider in the New Jersey MCP. The healthcare provider initiates the application process and creates the patient's record and secure ID that they provide to the patient to complete the application.
After receiving the certification, patients can register by submitting their application to the Department of Health or on the medical marijuana program portal. To complete their registration, patients will need to provide;
Log into the MMP online portal and open the registration page. Follow the instructions to complete the application and upload the required documents. The MMP will review the application and respond via email with further instructions on completing the registration or amending it. Approved applications will receive instructions on paying the $50 registration fee. Patients submitting their applications directly should mail them to:
New Jersey Department of Health
P.O. Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Phone: (601) 292-0424
The patient will receive their medical marijuana card within 2 - 3 weeks of the approval of their application, after which they can legally purchase marijuana.
A primary caregiver is a person assigned by a certified medical marijuana patient to assist them in the management and administration of medical marijuana. Caregivers are typically assigned by patients whose conditions are too severe to cater for themselves and by minors. Patients may designate up to two caregivers each, but a caregiver can only have one patient.
A primary caregiver must register with the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program after being identified by a patient in their registration. Upon registration, the caregiver will be able to procure the patient's medication from their alternate treatment center. To qualify as a primary caregiver, the individual must:
The patient initiates the caregiver registration process, either during their own registration or after. Once identified by the patient, the caregiver can log into the portal to complete their registration. To do this, the caregiver must upload:
There is a $50 fee for the caregiver registration. However, if the caregiver is a senior citizen, military veteran, or on government assistance, the fee is reduced to $20. The caregiver will need to show proof of their eligibility to receive this discount. If the caregiver is eligible for the reduced fee, then this also makes the qualifying patient eligible. Registration is free for patients and legal guardians of minor patients.
The caregiver must also print out the criminal background investigation form, which will provide instructions on completing the background check. Once the caregiver has been cleared, they will receive a notice of verification via email. The New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program will mail the caregiver's medical marijuana card within 2 - 3 weeks of their approval.
New Jersey medical marijuana laws allow 30 days for the processing of all medical marijuana applications made in the state. All this time all applications must be reviewed and approval or denial letters issued to the applicants. After an application has been approved and the registration fee paid, it takes about 2 - 3 weeks for the patient to receive the card.
A New Jersey medical marijuana card can be obtained online by eligible patients through registration on the medical marijuana program (MMP) online portal. A patient must be certified by an approved healthcare provider and receive their secure patient ID to gain access to the registration portal. Patients should follow the instructions and upload their required documents to complete the registration. A medical marijuana patient will also be required to select an alternative treatment center (ATC) during registration, where they will purchase their medical marijuana. When all the required patient information has been received and approved, the MMP will provide payment instructions to the patients. After receiving the patient's payment, the MMP will send the patient's medical marijuana card, through the mail, within 2 - 3 weeks.
A medical marijuana card from the New Jersey medical marijuana program costs $50 and is valid for two years from the date of approval. Certain individuals may be eligible for a reduced fee of $20 or pay no fee at all (parents and legal guardians of minor patients).
Registered qualifying patients will receive email notices 30 and 60 days before the expiration of their medical marijuana cards. Patients (and caregivers, if applicable) can log into their profiles on the NJ medical marijuana program portal to access instructions on renewing their registrations. Re-registration will require the patients (and caregivers) to upload new recent photographs, government-issued photo IDs, and proof of NJ residency. Persons claiming eligibility for reduced fees, i.e. seniors, veterans, and persons on government assistance, will also need to reupload their evidence. Caregivers who have previously completed a background check are not required to repeat this. However, they will need to submit to a new criminal background investigation.
When applying for a medical marijuana card in New Jersey, the applicant will need to provide the following documents:
The qualifying patient must upload these documents to the NJ MMP portal to complete their application.
The New Jersey medical marijuana program maintains a register of approved patients and caregivers in the state. Information provided by healthcare providers, qualifying patients, and caregivers during the application for medical marijuana cards is confidential in New Jersey. This is because the details provided during the application process are considered medical information and are protected by the Healthcare Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). All identifying information contained in this register cannot be disclosed without the patient's consent or court order. HIPAA standards regulate the disclosure of a patient's medical information to parties subject to the Privacy Rule. The Privacy Rule seeks to ensure that a patient's health information remains confidential while also facilitating the flow of information needed to promote quality healthcare.
The New Jersey medical marijuana program (MMP) portal grants limit access to law enforcement agencies to verify the validity of patients' medical marijuana cards. Employees of the MMP are also granted access insofar as to perform their official duties.
The following information about the cardholder appears on a New Jersey medical marijuana registry identification card:
Information on the New Jersey medical marijuana registry is not available to third parties without the patient's explicit consent. Therefore, it cannot be used by other persons to track down patients on the register. This is because the information provided by healthcare providers, qualifying patients, and caregivers is considered medical information and covered by HIPAA. It is a criminal offense to divulge patient information from the New Jersey registry without the patient's consent or court order.