Caregivers are persons who have been designated and have consented to purchase, transfer, and administer medical marijuana on behalf of patients who cannot do so by themselves. Such patients include persons under the age of 18 as theNew Jersey medical cannabis program prohibits minors from obtaining medical cards or medical marijuana by themselves. Patients who cannot access medical marijuana easily, whether through disability, severe medical conditions, or old age may also have caregivers assist them in obtaining and using medical marijuana.
In New Jersey, a caregiver may only serve one registered patient per time. However, a patient may designate up to two caregivers. Still, under certain circumstances and according to the Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act (CUMMA), a registered patient is allowed to petition the CRC for approval to designate more than two caregivers.
To be eligible to serve as a medical marijuana caregiver in New Jersey, you must:
Caregiver registrations are completed on the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program (NJMMP) registration portal. Note that caregivers who are not immediate family members of the patients being served must submit their fingerprints for criminal background checks. The following will be required when completing registration as a caregiver on the NJMMP portal:
Once the Cannabis Regulatory Commission has cleared the applicant via background check and examined their submitted documents, they will receive a notification by email confirming approval. Subsequently, their caregiver card will arrive in the mail in approximately 2 weeks. For more information on completing a caregiver registration, contact the New Jersey Medical Cannabis Program by calling the Program's customer service at (609) 292-0424.
Although the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission (CRC) oversees the state's medical cannabis program, caregivers are designated by qualifying patients and not the CRC. Caregivers are typically friends or family members and may be assigned by patients at any time during or after registering with the medical cannabis program.
Caregivers are allowed to purchase and have a maximum of 3 ounces of marijuana for every 30-day period. However, patients in hospice programs and terminally ill patients are typically exempted from monthly limits. Hence, caregivers for terminally ill patients may purchase more than the stipulated limit from approved Alternative Treatment Centers in New Jersey.
It is currently illegal for a caregiver to grow marijuana in New Jersey. The CRC prohibits caregivers and registered patients from cultivating marijuana for medical purposes.