Yes. It is legal in the state of New Jersey to possess marijuana. The New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization Act allows for the legal sale and use of cannabis and cannabis products for residents 21 years and older. This law further established a regulatory structure for the market and made it legal to possess, purchase, and even transport up to one ounce (28 grams) of cannabis.
Under the Jake Honig Compassionate Use Medical Cannabis Act, registered patients under the care of licensed medicinal practitioners are allowed safe access to cannabis-based medicine from regulated and monitored facilities. The use of medical cannabis is approved for qualifying medical conditions such as amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, cancer, PTSD, and chronic pain.
Having up to 1 ounce of weed in New Jersey is legal. However, recreational users are prohibited from possessing more than the legal amount.
Recreational users are also required to be aged 21 or older. Such a person must present a valid means of identification proving they are of the required age. Adults and medical marijuana patients in New Jersey may only consume cannabis in the privacy of their homes. Some dispensaries may have cannabis consumption areas for patients.
There is no penalty for first-time marijuana possession in New Jersey, as possession of marijuana is legal in the state. Adults who are 21 or older are allowed to possess up to one ounce (28 grams of weed) of cannabis in the state. Possession of more than six ounces of marijuana triggers the criminal penalty for recreational marijuana use. It is a crime that is punishable by up to 18 months in jail, a $25,000 fine, or both.
Marijuana must also be purchased from any state-licensed dispensary. These dispensaries must obtain licensing from the state to be able to sell cannabis legally. Selling marijuana without having a license as a licensed dispensary is prohibited in New Jersey.
Marijuana can be purchased at any licensed dispensary in the state. Any adult aged 21 or older is legally permitted to buy up to one ounce (28 grams) of marijuana in New Jersey at a time for recreational use.
Such a person must present a valid means of identification proving they are of the required age. These dispensaries must obtain licensing from the state to be able to sell cannabis legally. The New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission provides an index of licensed dispensaries across the state. Some of these dispensaries provide curbside pickup and delivery services in addition to storefront sales.
It is illegal in New Jersey to sell marijuana without obtaining a permit. Sentences vary based on the amount being distributed. The following penalties apply:
According to the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization Act, residents 21 years and older are legally permitted to buy, sell, and use cannabis and cannabis products. On the other hand, qualified patients with valid medicinal marijuana program identification must be at least 18 to purchase medicinal marijuana in the state.
Patients who are even younger than 18 may use medicinal cannabis in regulated doses as prescribed by a qualified medical practitioner. In New Jersey, marijuana possession and usage by minors are prohibited.
Adults 21 and older can possess up to one ounce (28 grams) of usable cannabis or its equivalent in solid, liquid, or concentrate form. The criminal penalty for recreational possession of weed begins with possession of over six ounces of marijuana. It is an offense punishable by up to 18 months in prison or a fine of $25,000, or both.
Qualified medical marijuana patients may possess three ounces (85 grams) in a 30-day period. Any person found with more than the stipulated amount will face a possession charge. Patients who are terminally ill or in hospice care do not have a monthly limit.
Underage marijuana possession and use are illegal in New Jersey. However, possession or use by a minor is not viewed as a crime or delinquent behavior.
None. Consumers are not permitted to grow their own marijuana. Unless an individual obtains a cannabis cultivator's license, it is illegal to cultivate marijuana in New Jersey. Penalties vary according to the number of plants cultivated. Second and subsequent convictions may be punished more harshly. Sentencing varies depending on the number of plants found in the person’s possession:
It is illegal to fly with marijuana across state lines. Marijuana use, possession, and sale are legal in New Jersey. However, it is still listed as part of Schedule I of the Controlled Substances Act. Federal law prohibits transporting any federally restricted substance across state lines. There is no distinction between states, regardless of whether it is being transported to a state that has also legalized marijuana.
Transporting marijuana across state lines is punishable by up to 5 years in federal prison and a fine of $250,000 to $1 million. Second offenses are punishable by up to 10 years in federal prison and a fine of $500,000 to $2 million.
No. Most public intoxication statutes provide that in addition to being impaired in public, a suspect must also be disturbing the peace, harassing others, or risking lives or safety. Therefore, as long as you're not bothering anyone or putting yourself or others in danger, being high is legal.
However, public use of marijuana is illegal. Adults and patients requiring medicinal marijuana are only permitted to use marijuana in private spaces and not in public.
Usage of marijuana is regulated under the Smoke Free Air Act, which provides against public smoking. It also prohibits smoking within enclosed indoor spaces.
Driving under the influence of marijuana is also illegal in the state of New Jersey under the Motor Vehicles and Traffic Regulation. This restriction applies includes marijuana, whether recreational or medical.
A driver may be subject to a range of penalties, such as jail time, a fine, higher insurance premiums, a criminal record, and possibly losing their driving privileges if found guilty of driving under the influence of marijuana.