Hudson County Cannabis – Is It Legal & Where To Buy 2024

  1. New Jersey Cannabis
  2. Hudson County Cannabis

Is Cannabis Cultivation Legal in Hudson County?

Yes. The Cannabis Regulatory Commission of New Jersey regulates the cultivation of cannabis. Pursuant to the Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization Act of New Jersey (CREAMM Act), cannabis cultivators in the State shall have Class 1 Cannabis Cultivator licenses issued by the commission to allow them to grow cannabis at their premises. Cultivators are permitted to grow cannabis in an area not exceeding 2,500 sq. ft. measured on a horizontal plane and to grow cannabis above that horizontal area not higher than 24 ft. Cannabis in New Jersey can be grown both indoors and outdoors as well. However, New Jersey’s legislation does not permit personal cultivation.

Is Cannabis Manufacturing Legal in Hudson County?

Yes. A cannabis manufacturer in New Jersey shall apply for a Class 2 Cannabis Manufacturer license issued by the Cannabis Regulatory Commission for the premises at which the cannabis products are manufactured. According to the CREAMM Act, in order to hold a Class 2 Cannabis Manufacturer license, an applicant:

  • Shall have a minimum of one significantly involved person who has lived in this State for at least two years during the time of the application, and provide proof that this person and any other persons with a financial interest and decision-making authority for the business is 21 years of age or older
  • Shall meet the requirements of any rule or regulation (including health and safety standards) adopted by the commission
  • Shall provide for any owner, any director, any officer, and any employee to undergo a criminal history record

Cannabis manufacturers must also permit representatives of cannabis testing facilities to make appointed and unscheduled visits to their premises to obtain random samples of cannabis items to be transported to cannabis testing facilities for testing and inspection to certify compliance with health, safety, and potency standards approved by the commission.

Is Cannabis Retail Legal in Hudson County?

Yes. A cannabis retailer in New Jersey shall have a Class 5 Cannabis Retailer license provided by the commission for the areas where cannabis items are retailed. According to the CREAMM Act, cannabis retailers obtain usable cannabis from cannabis cultivators and items from cannabis manufacturers or wholesalers and sell these to consumers from a retail store. They may also use a certified cannabis handler or a cannabis delivery service for the off-premises delivery of cannabis products and related supplies to consumers.

There is edible cannabis available in Hudson County. However, cannabis manufacturers and retailers are prohibited from producing and selling edible cannabis products that are in the shape bearing the likeness or containing characteristics of a fictional or realistic human, fruit, animal, or part thereof, including caricature, artistic, or cartoon renderings.

In New Jersey, anyone (residents or visitors) 21 years and older can purchase recreational cannabis at licensed cannabis dispensaries. Per transaction, dispensaries are permitted to sell up to the equivalent of 1 ounce of cannabis, and consumers may purchase a combination of cannabis products, such as:

  • 1 ounce of dried flower, or
  • 5 grams of concentrates, oils, resins, and other liquid forms, or
  • 1000mg of ingestible products like gummies (10 pcs. of 100mg packages)

Legally allowable cannabis product categories include topicals, syringes, concentrated oils, resin, dried flower, vape formulas, tinctures, soft chews, and lozenges, but availability varies by dispensary. Perishable edibles such as brownies and cookies are not available for purchase from any retailer in New Jersey.

Is Cannabis Delivery Legal in Hudson County?

Yes. Per CREAMM Act, licensed cannabis delivery services in New Jersey provide courier services for consumer purchases of cannabis and cannabis-related supplies fulfilled by the licensed retailer to make deliveries to that consumer. These courier services include the ability of a consumer to purchase cannabis items directly through the cannabis delivery service. The delivery service then presents the purchase order to the cannabis retailer for fulfillment, which is then delivered to that consumer. This cannabis delivery service shall hold a Class 6 Cannabis Delivery license under the State of New Jersey.

Moreover, the New Jersey Department of Health allows medical cannabis treatment centers to provide home delivery of medical cannabis to qualified patients and their designated caregivers.

How to Get Medical Marijuana Card in Hudson County

To become a qualified patient under the New Jersey Medicinal Cannabis Program (NJMCP), you must:

  • Be a New Jersey resident

  • Be diagnosed with a qualifying health condition by a state-licensed health care practitioner registered under the New Jersey Medicinal Cannabis Program

  • Approved qualifying medical conditions include:

  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

  • Anxiety

  • Cancer

  • Chronic pain

  • Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease

  • Intractable skeletal muscular spasticity

  • Dysmenorrhea

  • Glaucoma

  • Muscular dystrophy

  • Opioid Use Disorder

  • Migraine

  • Multiple sclerosis

  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

  • Seizure disorder, including epilepsy

  • Positive status for Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) and Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) 

  • Terminal illness with a prognosis of less than 12 months to live

  • Tourette Syndrome

  • Maintain a bona fide relationship with a certifying physician who is registered with the program

Once qualified, your doctor will give you the reference number to register for the New Jersey Medicinal Cannabis Program (NJMCP) online. Make sure to identify an Alternative Treatment Center where you will purchase your medicinal cannabis doses, then submit a recent full-face, front-facing photograph, a government-issued photo ID, proof of New Jersey residency, and proof of government assistance (if senior citizen, military veteran, or recipient of certain forms of government assistance). Once a patient/caregiver’s registration is approved, communication will be emailed to the patient/caregiver regarding payment ($100 standard fee; $20 reduced fee; free to parents and guardians of minor patients).

For questions or concerns, you may also mail or contact:

Department of Health

P. O. Box 360

Trenton, NJ 08625-0360


Medicinal Marijuana Program Customer Service

Phone: 609-292-0424


How Has Cannabis Legalization Impacted the Economy of Hudson County?

While medical-use marijuana was legalized in New Jersey in 2010, recreational-use marijuana was allowed by law in February 2021. Moreover, retail shops were recently allowed to operate on April 21, 2022.

In an article published by the Office of the Governor of New Jersey, the cannabis industry shows economic progress since it generates economic activity, creates jobs, and offers opportunities to disadvantaged communities.

Retail sales of medical cannabis are not subject to tax, while all recreational cannabis transactions are subject to a sales tax of 6.625%.

The Effects of Cannabis Legalization on Crime Rates in Hudson County

According to the FBI Uniform Crime Reporting database, New Jersey had varying numbers of DUI arrests and drug abuse violations in 2017, 2018, and 2019.

The 2017 crime report shows 21,574 DUI arrests and 61,989 drug abuse violations, while the 2018 crime data reports 17,230 and 48,008 DUI and drug abuse cases, respectively. The most recent report, the 2019 data, shows 21,112 DUI cases and 55,661 drug abuse violations in the whole State of New Jersey. Note that the recreational use of marijuana was allowed statewide in February 2021.

In this section:
Hudson County Cannabis