No. Although adult-use cannabis is legalized in New Jersey and its sales legal in Jersey City, there are currently no marijuana dispensaries in the city. The Jersey City Municipal Code permits marijuana dispensaries operating in Jersey City to be located in areas zoned for Neighborhood Commercial (NC), Highway Commercial (HC), Commercial/Automotive (C/A), Central Business District (CBD), Palisade Avenue Mixed-Use Multi-Family Attached Housing District (R-2D), Waterfront Planned Development (WPD), and Office/Residential (O/R).
No. No medical cannabis dispensary currently exists in the city. Note that medical cannabis and its sales are legal in Jersey City.
Yes. Jersey City residents may order cannabis online from dispensaries operating in neighboring New Jersey towns and cities and have it delivered to their homes. The city permits cannabis delivery within its borders. Hence, when marijuana dispensaries open in the city, such retail outlets may offer cannabis delivery to Jersey City residents.
Presently, there are no weed dispensaries in Jersey City. Residents who want to get cannabis in the city must buy it online or visit another New Jersey municipality where cannabis dispensaries operate. In order to be permitted to enter dispensaries in other New Jersey jurisdictions, you must be at least 21 years old. Also, you must be prepared to provide your medical marijuana card in order to purchase medicinal cannabis.
Typically, dispensaries only accept cash, so you must have cash to make your purchase. Although certain dispensing outlets may take debit cards, it is suggested that you take cash or plan to withdraw cash from a nearby ATM to pay for your purchases. Typically, budtenders or care professionals assist consumers and guide their purchase selections at dispensaries. New Jersey law prohibits dispensaries from selling in excess of the prescribed limits. Therefore, do not try to purchase more than is allowed. Additionally, it is illegal to consume cannabis products on dispensary property.
The following are dispensary laws in Jersey City:
Cannabis dispensaries may operate in the city upon obtaining the relevant licenses and permits
Dispensaries may not be located within 200 feet of a school or another marijuana-based facility
Cannabis consumption in a marijuana dispensing facility is illegal except in facilities that have obtained licenses to establish indoor cannabis consumption areas
Dispensaries must verify the IDs of customers before selling them cannabis
Dispensaries may not sell more than the specified possession limits under New Jersey law
Cannabis sales to minors are illegal
According to the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization (CREAMM) Act, possession, sale, and use of cannabis for recreational purposes are allowed in Jersey. Jersey residents aged 21 or older may possess cannabis within the permitted possession limits, but home cultivation is prohibited.
Although cannabis possession and use are legal in Jersey, it is illegal for residents to operate motor vehicles while under the influence of the drug or products. Residents may only obtain cannabis from licensed dispensaries and alternative treatment facilities in the city. However, with no cannabis dispensaries yet established in the city, Jersey City residents can only purchase cannabis from other New Jersey municipalities where legal pot shops operate. It is illegal to move cannabis across state lines or consume it on federal lands and buildings.
In Jersey City, residents of legal age are permitted to share up to one ounce of cannabis with other adults over the age of 21. Such transfers may not, however, include compensation or money. Jersey workers may also restrict cannabis use in the workplace and impose drug screenings if safety or work procedures are impacted.
According to the Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act (CUMMA), passed into law in 2010, medical marijuana is legal in Jersey City and other New Jersey jurisdictions. Bill A20, passed into law in 2019, revised the CUMMA, allowing the home delivery of medicinal cannabis and increasing the quantity of cannabis possessed by registered patients.
The state's medical cannabis law created a medicinal marijuana patient registry that enables residents with certain medical conditions who are 18 or older to purchase medical cannabis legally. Jersey patients and their caregivers may possess up to three ounces of medicinal marijuana each month under the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program. However, the city has no specific monthly purchasing restriction for recognized terminally ill patients. The 2013 enactment of S2842 permits Jersey patients under the age of 18 to ingest edible forms of medicinal marijuana.
Cannabis for medical purposes may only be consumed on private property. Cannabis cultivation is banned for both patients and caregivers.
The State of New Jersey issues medical marijuana cards to persons registered in its medical marijuana patient registry. To be eligible to be enrolled in the patient registry, you must:
Live in Jersey City or another New Jersey location
Maintain a bona fide relationship with a physician registered with the New Jersey medical cannabis program. To find out if your attending physician is registered with the New Jersey MCP or locate an approved healthcare provider, use the find a participating healthcare practitioner tool on the New Jersey MCP website
Be certified to have a qualifying medical condition by an authorized healthcare practitioner. These conditions include:
Opioid Use Disorder
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Tourette Syndrome and AIDS
Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn's disease
Intractable skeletal muscular spasticity
Seizure disorder, including epilepsy
Positive status for HIV
Terminal illnesses with a prognosis of less than one year to live
After determining eligibility for medical marijuana, you must schedule a visit to an approved healthcare practitioner to get an Authorizing Provider Statement. On the authorizing provider statement are a registry ID and reference ID number, which you will use to complete your application. Upon identifying the required identification numbers, visit the New Jersey MCP registry to upload the required items and pay the applicable application fee. The following items will be required to complete your application:
A recent photograph taken against a plain, white background
Proof of Jersey City or New Jersey residency, such as a current New Jersey-issued ID with your current physical address. Alternatively, you may provide any two of the following:
Bank statements for the last three months showing your name and address
A utility or cell phone bill from the last three months
A property tax bill, Social Security Administration documentation, jury summons, or other federal, state, or local government correspondence with your name and address issued in the past three months
An official deed
The past three consecutive pay stubs
A W-2 1099 Statement, an IRS correspondence, or the New Jersey Division of Taxation from the past year with your name and address
Proof of government assistance, if applicable
Pay the $50 application cost if you are not qualified for a reduced charge or $20 if you are after submitting all the necessary paperwork. Your card will arrive in the mail within two to three weeks after your application has been approved. You can find more details on getting a medical marijuana card on the website of the Patient Accounts page of the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission.
Cannabis consumption is legal on private properties in Jersey City. However, Jersey City property owners may restrict cannabis use on their properties.
Although cannabis dispensaries are legal in Jersey, you cannot yet purchase cannabis at a Jersey City dispensary, as there are currently no dispensaries in the jurisdiction. If you order cannabis online from other New Jersey locations, your government-issued ID will be required before taking delivery of the product. The ID is required to prove that you are 21 or older. If you are buying medical cannabis, your New Jersey medical marijuana card will be required.
With no dispensaries operating in the city, average cannabis prices in Jersey City are not yet known.
Jersey City residents who order cannabis online commonly order Durban Poison and Gelato cannabis strains.
No. You may only smoke cannabis in private spaces; however, Jersey City landlords may prohibit cannabis use on their properties. Therefore, you must obtain permission from your landlord or property manager before smoking cannabis in a rented apartment.
A Jersey City resident aged 21 or older may possess up to:
28.35 grams of dried flower
4 grams of cannabis in solid form or the equivalent of 4 grams of cannabis concentrate in liquid form
4 grams of cannabis in vaporized formulations (oil)
1000 milligrams of multiple ingestible cannabis-infused products, such as gummies
Registered Jersey City medical marijuana patients can possess up to 85 grams of cannabis every 30 days. Patients with terminal illnesses or receiving hospice treatments have no monthly possession limits.
You may not ship cannabis across state lines in Jersey City. However, you may move cannabis from one New Jersey location to Jersey City provided it is transported securely in air-tight containers in the trunk of a vehicle.
You can order cannabis online in Jersey City. However, such orders can only be made through cannabis dispensaries operating in other New Jersey locations, as there are currently no dispensaries within Jersey City.
No. There are currently no 24-hour dispensaries in the city.
Tourists cannot use marijuana dispensaries in Jersey City as there are no weed dispensaries currently operating in the city. However, when dispensaries open in the city, tourists only need to provide government-issued IDs showing they are 21 or older to purchase cannabis.
Dispensary employees will need visitors to present government-issued identification cards to verify that they are at least 21 years old. Cannabis dispensaries may not make copies of your identification or retain records of your marijuana purchase beyond what is required to complete a single transaction. Note that there are no weed dispensaries in Jersey City as of now.
There are currently no marijuana dispensaries located within Jersey City.
When dispensaries open in Jersey City, the facilities will scan customers' IDs as state law requires to ensure buyers are of legal age and have the proper documentation to purchase cannabis.
There is no cap on the maximum number of cannabis retail licenses that may be issued in Jersey City. However, as of now, there are no cannabis dispensaries in the city.
Although there are no cannabis dispensaries in Jersey, cannabis dispensaries usually accept cash or debit cards.
While no marijuana dispensaries exist in Jersey as of this moment, no law in New Jersey restricts Jersey residents from visiting multiple dispensaries when they are open in the city.
Health insurance companies do not cover cannabis purchases as cannabis remains a prohibited drug under federal law.
New Jersey law requires all cannabis dispensaries to track sales in their facilities. When dispensaries open in Jersey City, they must comply with this law.
No. Per New Jersey law, recreational weed buyers must be 21 or older to enter cannabis dispensaries in New Jersey. Medical cannabis buyers must be at least 18 or have their designated caregivers purchase cannabis on their behalf if they are under 18.
The state Cannabis Regulatory Commission (CRC) regulates cannabis operations statewide in New Jersey. You can find the CRC’s contact information on the Commission’s website.