Marijuana Dispensaries in Trenton

Find Authorized Cannabis Stores Near You

Select a Distance
1 mi
2 mi
5 mi
10 mi
20 mi

Are there Marijuana Dispensaries in Trenton?

No. Although cannabis dispensaries are permitted to operate in the City of Trenton, there are currently no dispensaries in the city.

Are there Medical Marijuana Dispensaries in Trenton?

No. There are no medical marijuana dispensaries in the City of Trenton. Although city laws do not restrict the operations of such establishments, there are currently no approved medical marijuana retail outlets in the city.

Can You Buy Cannabis from Online Weed Dispensaries in Trenton?

No. There are neither cannabis physical stores nor online weed dispensaries in Trenton. Therefore, you cannot order cannabis online from approved retail outlets in the city.

Visiting a Dispensary in Trenton

In Trenton, there are currently no dispensaries to purchase marijuana. Once these businesses become available in the city, customers wishing to buy recreational cannabis must present a valid government-issued ID that verifies they are of legal age. On the other hand, those buying medical marijuana must show a valid New Jersey medical marijuana card. As mandated by state law, it is not allowed to consume marijuana inside the dispensaries.

Trenton Dispensary Laws

The following dispensary laws hold for potential cannabis retail outlets in the city:

  • No business may operate in Trenton as a cannabis dispensary without obtaining the relevant cannabis retail license from the state and the New Jersey and the City of Trenton cannabis business permit

  • A cannabis dispensary may not be located within 1,000 feet of another cannabis dispensary, excluding alternative treatment centers and medical cannabis dispensaries only selling medical cannabis

  • Cannabis dispensaries may not be located within 750 feet of all schools where children are routinely present

  • Consuming marijuana inside a dispensary is prohibited unless the establishment has been issued a special license for designated indoor consumption areas. In such cases, consumption is only allowed within the approved lounge area

  • Before making a sale, dispensaries must verify the identity of their customers. Only individuals who are 21 or older can purchase recreational cannabis, and medical marijuana can only be bought by individuals who hold valid medical marijuana cards

  • Dispensaries must also keep records of their sales and ensure that no customer exceeds the maximum amount stipulated under New Jersey laws

Recreational Laws in Trenton

The New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization Act (CREAMMA) legalized cannabis use for recreational purposes in Trenton. However, there are certain restrictions and permissions guiding recreational cannabis use, cultivation, possession, and sales under the CREAMMA. The following are the recreational cannabis regulations under CREAMMA:

  • Possession Limits: Residents or visitors aged 21 or older are the only persons allowed to possess or use cannabis in Trenton. Such persons are permitted to possess up to 1 ounce of usable cannabis or its equivalent in solid, liquid, or concentrated form

  • Home Cultivation: Home cultivation of cannabis is illegal in Trenton

  • Permitted Forms: Legally acceptable cannabis forms include dried flower, resin, concentrated oils, vape formulas, lozenges, topicals, tinctures, syringes, and soft chews, but availability will vary by the dispensary. Perishable edibles such as cookies and brownies are not permitted to be sold

  • Public Use: Consuming marijuana in public places is illegal and subject to penalties

  • Driving Under the Influence: Operating a vehicle under the influence of marijuana is prohibited and carries severe penalties

  • Cannabis Sharing: In Trenton, adults of legal age are permitted to possess and share up to one ounce of cannabis. However, the transfer may not involve the exchange of items, remuneration or compensation

  • Retail Sales: Retail sales of marijuana are regulated by the state and can only be done by persons who have obtained the relevant license and permit from New Jersey and the City of Trenton

Medical Cannabis Laws in Trenton

Medical marijuana laws in Trenton are adopted from the New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act (CUMMA). The CUMMA permits and restricts the following:

  • Qualifying Conditions: Medical cannabis is not accessible to all persons. Only individuals with qualifying conditions are allowed to register under the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program (NJMMP)

  • Medical Marijuana Card: To access medical marijuana in Trenton, patients must have valid medical marijuana cards issued under the state’s medical marijuana program

  • Purchases: Medical marijuana purchases are only legal when done at licensed dispensaries

  • Limits on Purchase: Patients in New Jersey are limited to purchasing three ounces of marijuana per month. Terminally ill patients have no restrictions on their purchase limits

  • Use Restrictions: Patients are not allowed to smoke marijuana in public places, and it is also prohibited to drive under the influence of marijuana

  • Home Cultivation: It is illegal to grow cannabis at home

  • Minor Patients: Patients under 18 or those unable to visit dispensaries may designate and register caregivers under the NJMMP to make medical cannabis purchases on their behalf

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Trenton

The New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program (NJMMP) allows enrolled patients to get medical marijuana cards to access medical cannabis legally. To become a registered patient under the program, you must:

  • Be a resident of Trenton

  • Have a qualifying condition

  • Maintain a bona fide relationship with a healthcare practitioner registered with the NJMMP. You may use the find a doctor online resource on the NJMMP program to find a healthcare provider registered with the NJMMP

After confirming that you fulfill the eligibility requirements, you may schedule a meeting with an NJMMP-registered physician to obtain an Authorizing Provider Statement. The statement contains the reference ID number and a registration ID required to complete your medical marijuana card application.

Next, visit the state's online patient registry to commence your application. You will need the following to complete the application:

  • A valid proof of New Jersey residency. This may be a New Jersey government-issued ID or two proofs of New Jersey residency, such as an official deed, utility bill from the past 90 days, last three consecutive pay stubs, and last three monthly bank statements with your name and address

  • A recent photograph

  • A $50 application fee

  • Proof of government assistance, if applicable. Persons benefiting from government assistance are eligible for reduced application fees

The New Jersey Department of Health will review your application after submission. If your application is approved, your card will be mailed to your address within 21 days following approval. For more detailed steps in applying for a medical marijuana card in Trenton, visit the patient accounts section of the state Cannabis Regulatory Commission's website.

Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in Trenton?

Cannabis consumption is legal on private properties in Trenton. Cannabis use is also permitted within the approved consumption lounges of licensed dispensaries. However, there are currently no approved dispensaries in the city.

How to Buy Cannabis at a Trenton Dispensary

You cannot buy cannabis in Trenton, as there are no approved dispensaries in the city

The Average Price in Trenton

Cannabis is not legally sold in Trenton.

Most Popular Strains in Trenton

No weed strain is yet popular in Trenton, as there are no legal cannabis retail outlets there.

Can You Smoke in Public in Trenton?

No. Cannabis smoking in public is unlawful in Trenton.

How Much Marijuana Can You Possess at Once in Trenton?

In Trenton, residents aged 21 or older may possess the following:

  • One ounce of cannabis

  • Four grams of concentrated cannabis

  • Four grams of cannabis in vaporized oil form

  • 1000 milligrams of cannabis edibles, like gummies

Medical marijuana patients in Trenton are permitted to have up to 85 grams of cannabis per month. However, individuals with terminal illnesses or undergoing hospice care are exempt from this monthly possession limit for cannabis.

Can I Ship Cannabis in Trenton?

No. It is not permitted to ship weed across state borders. You may, however, move cannabis from Trenton to other New Jersey locations or vice-versa.

Can I Order Cannabis Online in Trenton?

You cannot order cannabis online in Trenton. There are no cannabis dispensaries in the city.

Are there 24-hour Dispensaries in Trenton?

No. There are no dispensaries in Trenton.

Can Tourists Use Dispensaries in Trenton?

No. There are no dispensaries for locals or tourists to use in Trenton.

Do You Need ID for Dispensary in Trenton?

No. There are no authorized marijuana retailers in the city.

Best Dispensaries in Trenton

There are no dispensaries selling cannabis in Trenton.

Do Dispensaries Scan your ID in Trenton?

There are no marijuana retail outlets in Trenton.

How Many Dispensaries are in Trenton?

There are no weed dispensaries in the City of Trenton.

Can Dispensaries in Trenton Take Credit Cards?

No cannabis dispensaries exist in the City of Trenton.

How Many Dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day?

You cannot visit a marijuana dispensary in Trenton, as retail cannabis establishments do not currently exist there. When such businesses open in the city, you can visit several dispensaries in one day.

Do Dispensaries in Trenton Take Health Insurance?

No. Trenton has not authorized cannabis dispensaries to operate in the city.

Do Dispensaries in Trenton Track How Much Weed You Buy?

No business has been approved to sell weed in Trenton.

Can You Enter a Dispensary in Trenton at Age 18?

There are currently no dispensaries in the city. However, only persons aged 21 or older can enter recreational dispensaries in New Jersey.

Where Can I Find the Trenton Cannabis Regulator’s Contact Information?

The state Cannabis Regulatory Commission regulates cannabis operations in the City of Trenton. You can contact the commission at or call the CRC at (609) 376-7300.

How Do I Report Illegal Cannabis Activities in Trenton?

To report illegal cannabis operations in Trenton, contact the Trenton Police Department at (609) 989-4000. You may also report illicit cannabis activities to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission.