Yes, the cultivation of cannabis is legal in Mercer County. The New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission is the agency that regulates the cultivation of cannabis. Both medical and recreational cannabis is allowed in New Jersey.
Under the Cannabis Regulation, Enforcement Assistance, and Market Modernization Act, also known as CREAMM Act, cannabis cultivators in New Jersey are required to comply with a Class 1 Cannabis Cultivation License issued by the Commission to grow cannabis on their premises. As defined in the CREAMM Act, a cannabis cultivator is a person who obtains a license to grow cannabis in the state and may sell and deliver that cannabis to other cannabis cultivators, manufacturers, retailers, or wholesalers, but not to consumers. A cultivator is permitted to grow cannabis on an area no greater than 2,500 square feet, measured in a horizontal plane, and no more than 24 feet above that horizontal area.
Cannabis in New Jersey can be grown both indoors and outdoors. New Jersey law does not allow home cultivation. Additionally, under current law, medical or recreational cannabis may not be planted and cultivated on land protected under New Jersey's Farmland Conservation Program.
Yes. Cannabis manufacturers in New Jersey must apply for a Class 2 Cannabis Manufacturer license from the Cannabis Regulatory Commission for the facility where their cannabis is manufactured. Under the CREAMM Act, to obtain a Class 2 Cannabis Manufacturer license, an applicant shall:
Have at least one significantly involved individual who has resided in the state for at least two years at the time of application, and that individual and any other persons must be someone with financial interests and decision-making authority; must be 21 years old or above
Must ensure that all owners, directors, officers, and employees have undergone a criminal history check
Comply with the requirements of any rules or regulations, such as health and safety standards adopted by the Commission
Cannabis manufacturers are also required to allow representatives of cannabis testing facilities to conduct an inspection and obtain a random sample of cannabis products to confirm compliance with health, safety, and potency standards.
Yes. Cannabis retailers in New Jersey must hold a Class 5 Cannabis Retailer License issued by the Commission for the area where cannabis items are sold. Under the CREAMM Act, cannabis retailers source usable cannabis from cannabis cultivators, source items from cannabis manufacturers, and wholesalers, and sell them to consumers at retail outlets. They may also use a licensed cannabis handler or delivery service for off-premises delivery of cannabis products and supplies to consumers.
Before dispensing cannabis, dispensary staff must see a government-issued ID to verify consumers are over the age of 21. They may not make copies of IDs or keep records of purchases beyond what is necessary to complete a single financial transaction. Customers may voluntarily provide information to customer programs such as mailing lists.
Edible cannabis is available in Mercer County. However, cannabis manufacturers and retailers must not sell edible products that take the form of or have characteristics of fictitious or realistic humans, animals, fruits, or parts thereof, including cartoons, caricatures, or artistic renderings.
In New Jersey, people (residents or visitors) over the age of 21 can purchase recreational cannabis from licensed dispensaries. Dispensaries can sell up to 1 ounce worth of cannabis per transaction, allowing consumers to buy combinations of cannabis products such as:
1 ounce dried flowers or
4 grams of concentrates, resins, oils, and other liquid forms or
1000mg gummies and other ingestible products (10 pcs. of 100mg packs)
In general, individuals over the age of 21 can use cannabis on private property. However, property owners or landlords can restrict the use of cannabis on their properties. Other cannabis products allowed for sale in Mercer County include topicals, concentrated oils, resins, syringes, dried flowers, tinctures, soft chews, vape formulas, and lozenges, although availability varies with each dispensary. Perishable edibles like brownies and cookies are not available for sale from any retailer in the state.
Yes. Cannabis delivery services must hold a Class 6 Cannabis Delivery license in New Jersey. Pursuant to the CREAMM Act, licensed cannabis delivery companies in New Jersey may provide delivery services for consumers to purchase cannabis and cannabis-related supplies and permit licensed retailers to book those deliveries. These delivery services may also allow consumers to purchase cannabis directly through them. The delivery service then presents the order to the cannabis retailer for fulfillment, which is thereafter delivered to that consumer.
As for medical cannabis, the New Jersey Department of Health permits medical cannabis treatment centers to deliver medical cannabis to the homes of eligible patients registered under the New Jersey Medicinal Cannabis Program (NJMCP) with medical marijuana cards and their designated caregivers. Delivery services may require consumers to present a valid ID for identification purposes. Registered patients can choose to present their government-issued ID card or their NJMCP card—the latter allows the patient to purchase more cannabis than the one-ounce limit per single transaction (up to 3 ounces at a time every month). For home deliveries, authorized cannabis delivery staff may only travel to a place of residence from the licensed premises of the cannabis retailer, from contracted suppliers, or among multiple cannabis retailers. Cannabis delivery services may also deliver from one resident to another.
To become an eligible patient under the New Jersey Medicinal Cannabis Program (NJMCP), you must:
Be a resident of New Jersey
Have a diagnosis of a qualifying health condition by a state-licensed physician registered with the NJMCP
Have approved eligible medical conditions, such as:
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Inflammatory bowel disease, to include Crohn’s disease
Intractable skeletal muscular spasticity
Opioid Use Disorder
Seizure disorder, including epilepsy
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Positive status for AIDS and HIV
Terminal illness with prognosis of less than a year to live
Maintain a bona fide relationship with a licensed and certifying physician enrolled in the NJMCP
Once you qualify, your doctor will give you a reference number to enroll online in the New Jersey Medical Cannabis Program (NJMCP). Be sure to identify the Alternative Treatment Center where you can purchase doses of medical cannabis and provide a recent full-face photo, proof of New Jersey residency, government-issued photo ID, and proof of government assistance (if military veteran, senior citizen, or recipient of government assistance). Once the patient/caregiver registration is approved, payment notification will be emailed to the patient/caregiver ($100 standard rate, $20 discounted rate, and free for guardians and parents of minor patients).
To know more about the NJMCP, you may also mail or contact:
Department of Health
P. O. Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Medicinal Marijuana Program Customer Service
New Jersey approved medical marijuana in 2010 and recreational marijuana in February 2021. However, retail stores were allowed to open on April 21, 2022. Although retail sales of medical cannabis are not taxable, all recreational cannabis business transactions are subject to a sales tax of 6.625%.
In April 2022, an article published by the New Jersey Governor's Office stated that the cannabis industry shows economic progress as it creates jobs, generates economic activity, and provides opportunities for disadvantaged communities. Furthermore, 70% of the sales tax collected on the sale of recreational cannabis goes to communities affected by marijuana-related arrests in furthering social justice and equity goals.
As of the mid-August 2022 report, medical cannabis sales reached $59,262,014, while recreational sales amounted to $79,698,831— which totals a whopping $138,960,845. The figures show a drastic increase in cannabis sales when retail stores opened in April 2022.
According to the FBI Uniform Crime Reports Database, New Jersey had a varying number of DUI and drug abuse arrests in 2017, 2018, and 2019.
While the 2017 crime report shows 21,574 arrests for DUI and 61,989 substance abuse offenses, 2018 crime data showed 17,230 DUI and 48,008 substance abuse cases. The most recent report, the 2019 data, shows 21,112 DUI arrests and 55,661 substance abuse violations across New Jersey. Note that recreational marijuana use became legal in February 2021.