No. While Ordinance MC-5426 allows cannabis retailers to operate in the City of Camden, there are currently no cannabis dispensaries in the city. Dispensaries are permitted to be located within the following zoning districts in Camden:
C-2 Zone - Gateway/Waterfront South
C-3 Zone - Old Pathmark Area
C-4 Zone - Admiral Wilson Boulevard
US Zone - University Services
CC Zone - Center City
C-1 Zone - Haddon Avenue from Kaighn Avenue to Atlantic Avenue
No. There are currently no approved medical marijuana retailers in Camden.
Although there are no Camden online weed dispensaries to order from, you can order cannabis from licensed retailers in other New Jersey municipalities where cannabis retailers are authorized to operate. With the state allowing cannabis delivery by authorized entities, you can have your order from other New Jersey jurisdictions delivered to your Camden address.
While there are presently no cannabis dispensaries in the city, persons visiting adult-use cannabis dispensaries in the city in the future must have valid government-issued IDs proving they are 21 or older. If medical cannabis dispensaries are established in the city, you must have an active New Jersey medical marijuana card to enter such facilities. Whether you plan to buy medical or adult-use cannabis, there are restrictions on the amount of cannabis you may purchase as required by state law. Therefore, your purchases must remain within the state-stipulated purchase limits (28.5 grams for recreational purchases and 3 ounces for medical marijuana purchases).
The following dispensary laws hold for potential cannabis retail outlets in the city:
A dispensary may only commence operations in Camden after obtaining a New Jersey cannabis business license and a City of Camden permit
The use or consumption of cannabis or cannabis products in any manner is not permitted within a dispensary, whether in the building or on its grounds or parking lots. Cannabis consumption areas are not permitted within a dispensary
A dispensary must have a round-the-clock video surveillance system 365 days a year
A cannabis dispensary may operate between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. Monday through Saturday and between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. on Sunday
No more than 28.5 grams of cannabis or cannabis product may be sold to a specific recreational customer at a given time. Camden dispensaries may also not sell more than 3 ounces of cannabis to a qualified patient over a 30-day period
A Camden dispensary may not operate a drive-through facility
A security employee must screen all patrons at a dispensary, and patrons must demonstrate proof of minimum age of 21 years old. Patrons between 18 and 20 must show valid New Jersey medical marijuana cards to be allowed to enter a dispensary
Recreational cannabis is legal in the City of Camden in accordance with the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization Act (CREAMMA). The CREAMMA stipulates that:
Adults aged 21 and older are legally allowed to possess up to 1 ounce of flower or up to 4 grams of cannabis concentrate. Permitted forms of cannabis include dried flower, resin, concentrated oils, tinctures, vape formulas, topicals, lozenges, syringes, and soft chews, but availability may vary by dispensary. Edibles like cookies and brownies are not allowed to be sold at licensed dispensaries
Consumption of cannabis in public places and on federal property is prohibited
The use of cannabis while operating a vehicle, aircraft, or boat is illegal
Smoking cannabis is prohibited in areas where smoking tobacco is banned
The home cultivation of cannabis is illegal
Adults aged 21 or older may give up to 1 ounce of cannabis to other adults 21 or older. However, no form of payment or compensation may be given or accepted for the gifted cannabis
Workplaces have the right to prohibit cannabis use at work and to require a drug test if work procedure or safety is compromised
The New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act (CUMMA) contains the legal codes regulating medical cannabis in Camden. Under the CUMMA:
Only patients with certain qualifying medical conditions are eligible for medical cannabis use in Camden
Qualifying Camden patients must obtain medical cannabis recommendations from New Jersey-registered physicians and medical marijuana cards in order to obtain medical cannabis
Minors under the age of 18 who qualify for medical cannabis use in New Jersey must obtain consent from their parents or legal guardians before applying for New Jersey medical marijuana cards
Patients and caregivers are prohibited from cultivating cannabis at home
Registered patients can have up to 3 ounces of cannabis per month, while terminally ill patients and patients in hospice care have no monthly possession limits
You can get a New Jersey medical marijuana card in Camden if you live in the city and have one of the qualifying conditions. To begin your application for a medical marijuana card, you must obtain an Authorizing Provider Statement from a healthcare provider registered with the New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program (NJMMP). You must have a bona fide relationship with the doctor for the statement to be deemed valid by the NJMMP. To find a healthcare practitioner registered with the NJMMP, use the find an NJMMP doctor tool on the Cannabis Regulatory Commission's website.
On the Authorizing Provider Statement issued by your certifying physician, you will find a registration ID and reference ID that will be used to complete your application online. On the New Jersey online patient registry, you will be required to provide the following:
Proof of Camden residency. You may provide a New Jersey government-issued ID or two of the following:
An official deed
Utility bill from the past 90 days
The past three consecutive pay stubs
The past three-monthly bank statements with your name and address
A recent passport-style photograph
A $50 application fee
Proof of participation in a government-assisted program, if applicable. Individuals benefiting from government assistance may pay discount application fees
Your card should arrive within 21 days after submitting your application if the application is complete and approved by the New Jersey Department of Health.
Cannabis consumption is legal in private spaces, such as personal residences in the city. Note that you must obtain permission from your landlord before consuming cannabis in your residence if you live in a rented apartment. Cannabis use in public places is illegal.
Camden is not yet home to a dispensary. Hence, you cannot purchase cannabis at any facility there.
There are no approved retailers in the city. Until cannabis dispensaries are established in the city, average prices for cannabis products there will remain unknown.
Since cannabis retail shops are yet to open in the city, it is difficult to know which strains are popular.
No. Smoking cannabis in public in Camden is illegal. You may smoke cannabis in private spaces. However, Camden landlords or property managers may prohibit cannabis consumption on their properties.
Camden adults (aged 21 or older) can possess 1,000 milligrams of cannabis edibles, 4 grams of vaporized cannabis, 4 grams of concentrated cannabis, or one ounce of non-concentrated cannabis. Medical marijuana patients registered with the state can possess up to 3 ounces of cannabis. Note that patients in hospice care or those with terminal ailments do not have monthly possession limits.
You may not ship cannabis in any quantity across state lines. You cannot mail it to any jurisdiction, even if cannabis use is legal there. However, if you transport cannabis in the trunk of your vehicle within New Jersey locations, including Camden, you face no legal consequences.
You cannot order cannabis online in Camden as there are no cannabis dispensaries there. However, you may ship cannabis from other New Jersey cities or towns for delivery in Camden.
No. There are no dispensaries in Camden.
No. There are no stores yet licensed to sell cannabis in Camden.
When dispensaries open in the city, you need a New Jersey medical cannabis card to purchase medical cannabis or a valid government-issued ID to prove you are of legal age (21 or older) to purchase recreational cannabis.
No store in the city is authorized to sell cannabis in Camden.
There are no marijuana retailers in Camden.
There are no weed dispensaries in the City of Camden.
No retailer has been licensed to operate in the City of Camden.
You can visit multiple dispensaries in one day. However, there are no licensed pot stores operating yet in Camden.
Health insurance plans do not typically cover weed purchases.
Although Camden does not yet have cannabis stores, New Jersey requires all state-licensed pot stores to track weed sales.
There are no dispensaries for minors or adults to visit in Camden. However, when cannabis stores open in the city, you must be 21 to enter adult-use dispensaries or 18 to enter medical marijuana stores.
The Cannabis Regulatory Commission regulates cannabis operations in the City of Camden. You can contact the state agency by calling the Commission at (609) 376-7300 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
To report illegal cannabis operations in the City of Camden, contact the Camden County Police Department at (856) 757-7590. You may also report illicit cannabis activities to the Cannabis Regulatory Commission.